Author Topic: Maternity Leave  (Read 3086 times)

LexieTaylor

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Alum, UW-Whitewater
  • Current Gig: Former SM/Occasional Freelancer
  • Experience: Professional
Maternity Leave
« on: Feb 24, 2016, 06:59 pm »
I have found some threads about the regulations and union perspective on this topic, but I am just looking for some mom advice at this point.
I am currently 10 weeks pregnant, and starting to think about how this will affect my work situation at the beginning of our next season. (I am a resident stage manager, non-union, and generally full time but on an annual contract.)
I would love to hear from some other women (and men I suppose) about their experiences with maternity leave while working as stage managers.
How did you decide how long to take? What was the ultimate decision? How was the transition going back to work? Who did you leave your little one with and how early?
Any general advice would be great.

Thanks!  :)

BayAreaSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Bay Area SM
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: VP, Operations in AV Events
Re: Maternity Leave
« Reply #1 on: Feb 25, 2016, 01:19 am »

When I had my baby I was also a resident SM, with a season-long contract and not covered by the union. I worked in ballet, and had my own office and wasn't in rehearsal all the time.

For myself, I planned my little one for the off season. My last day of work was May 11, he was born on June 8 and I returned to work on August 20. As far as "maternity leave" - I was unemployed, but collecting disability, per California state law. Not sure how that would have worked with my company, if I had him during the season. Our dancers are permitted 1 year of unpaid leave with a guarantee to return to the company after that year. There is no language about staff maternity leave in our staff handbook.