Author Topic: how to deal with the a biology major turn into a SM  (Read 4914 times)

michaw

• New to Town
    • View Profile
how to deal with the a biology major turn into a SM
« on: Jan 13, 2010, 08:10 pm »
I'm a freelance stage manager, and now I'm working into a company where they have a resident SM that is a biology major. So, when I get to the company, I am the/her assistant stage manager.
When she gave me the script, it's in a folder and not bind at all. I guess by that time she is so busy that's why she hand me that script. But when I ask questions, she give my answers like, "Maybe," "I don't know," "I don't take note of blocking notations because it's not final yet," "We don't spike floors, because the set is keep on moving"....blah blah blah...

I don't know what to do with her. She doesnt create a comfort zone for us and she always think that she is correct. She's calling cues like, "Standby lights.........and lights," "Open blue," and the main curtain will open.

I tell her that she should take a short course in stage management. But, it turned out that I am insulting her ego and she seldom talks to me anymore. What should I do? Any advice?

<cleaned up a little grammar for easier reading ~T_G>
« Last Edit: Jan 14, 2010, 06:21 pm by tempest_gypsy »

missliz

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • Personal Site
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: how to deal with the a biology major turn into a SM
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2010, 10:24 pm »
Firstly, don't fault her for not being a "theater kid." I have many friends in theater who started off as bio majors, French majors, lawyers and ad execs. It's the individual experiences that bring new ideas to the job.

That said-