Author Topic: First Jobs  (Read 7093 times)

samharman1989

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Dissertation - Theatre and the World of Gaming
  • Experience: College/Graduate
First Jobs
« on: Jan 13, 2011, 09:00 pm »
I'm just about to finish University and enter 'Real World' and have the daunting task off trying to work my way into the realms of professional theatre management. I understand there is a mountain of advice in these forums, but I was wondering if anyone had some interesting 'First Job' stories?

How did you find your way into the theatre? What was your starting wage? Who helped you along the way?

Sorry if this topic isn't appropriate for this forum, I'm a newbie and still learning my way around  ;D

nmno

Re: First Jobs
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2011, 12:09 am »
My first job:  I was originally supposed to just sub in a few shows for the ASM but at the last minute, there was some staff reshuffling, the ASM became the Company Manager of the theatre and I got the gig full time.  Can't remember what I was paid, something like $350/week.  I won't get into the gory details but it was a horrible experience.  I didn't know what I was doing, the PSM was a little crazy (I've had people comment "Oh, you worked with her? You can work with anybody...") It was unbearable hours (with my commute, I was only getting a few hours of sleep a night. Showed late to a day of tech because I was so stressed and tired that while getting ready to go in, I started throwing up...). I hated it.  I finished the show but resigned and didn't do the second show (they never had me sign a contract.)  I was done with theatre. After 1 show.