Author Topic: What to do?  (Read 6300 times)

TheDarkMia

• Tourist
    • View Profile
What to do?
« on: Jul 20, 2008, 02:35 am »
I'm 16 (almost 17), I'm a homeschooled student, and I'm very interested in becoming a stage manager.
The thing is, I'm not able to go to college.
Can you "work up the ladder" to a stage manager?

BKrynicki

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
Re: What to do?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 20, 2008, 01:17 pm »
You don't need a degree to stage manage.  You just need experience.  Many theatres offer internships, a good way to start.

zayit shachor

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • http://thankyouten.blogspot.com
« Reply #2 on: Jul 20, 2008, 01:53 pm »
College is definitely not a requirement to become a great stage manager.  I'd suggest getting involved with your local community theater - see if they have any stage crew positions available.  Working backstage is a great way to get experience as well as work closely with SMs and ASMs so that you can learn what the job is all about.

Also, definitely start taking a look around these boards!  There are posts about books about stage management (Lawrence Stern's is a great one), and lots of posts about how to get started in the business.

sarahbear42

• Contributor
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Jul 20, 2008, 02:49 pm »
If you can't do college, I suggest to you to get on ArtSearch, etc, and start looking at summer positions and internships. Four years of interning, etc, is going to count for as much or more as a degree, and will put you out in the professional world with lots of great experience. I went to the only school in my state that had a BFA in Stage Management, and took tons of classes, etc, but it still didn't prepare for everything once you get "out there"!

You don't say why you can't go to college, though. If it's an issue of relocation or anything like that, you might have a problem.

LCSM

• Permanent Resident
  • @LuciaCorak
    • View Profile