Author Topic: Stage Managers, Stage manager.  (Read 8426 times)

Grayson

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Stage Managers, Stage manager.
« on: Mar 23, 2009, 04:41 pm »
I have been asked to be my Stage managers, Stage manager for his senior directed One Act. (I'm a freshman already directed two touring shows with casts and tech about 50 people)
 I have already noticed that he will not give me a chance to my job. He is doing all the work himself and leaving me out of the loop.  I am getting very tired of dealing with this and we have yet to even start rehearsals. I love this young man, he is my mentor. I used to idolize him. But know I don't know what to do, he is my friend.When he originally asked me to be his SM I said, "Blake, remember, you are the Director and I am the SM, There are things I do and things you do. If you let me do my job I will be your SM."  What should I do?

thehayworth

• Contributor
  • Uh oh.
    • View Profile
    • Propaganda Pipeline
  • Current Gig: Santaland Diaries
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Stage Managers, Stage manager.
« Reply #1 on: Mar 23, 2009, 04:47 pm »
Let him do the work?
"This time for sure."

BLee

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • BrandyLee Hatcher, SM
  • Affiliations: University of California-Irvine, Graduate SM, Class of '13
  • Current Gig: Assistant Stage Manager at Disneyland Resorts
  • Experience: College/Graduate
« Reply #2 on: Mar 23, 2009, 04:58 pm »
I am actually on the other side of this situation. I am a stage manager who is directing a project with a first year who is stage managing for my show. I can not tell you how hard it is sometimes to remember which job belongs to who since I learning new tasks I am required to do and falling into old habits doing things that the SM should do.