Author Topic: SM's problem with techies...  (Read 6876 times)

latefortea

SM's problem with techies...
« on: Mar 17, 2008, 07:31 pm »
So, I'm a freshman and I've been hired by the director to be the SM for our musical. The techies are majorly clique-ish and have a huge problem with a freshman being in charge of them (all of them are upper-classman). I'm not sure how much understanding I should allow them. I understand where they're coming from...but I'm also in charge of them. Any advice with something to say to them, or how to establish myself as their leader?

cbksm

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Re: SM's problem with techies...
« Reply #1 on: Mar 17, 2008, 07:49 pm »
As a freshman you are trying to fit in with the upper class-man. I think that as a stage manager you need to be in charge and not that them boss you around. The upper class-man will then respect for not giving in. It is your job as a stage manager to be in charge. Once you lose the ability of being in charge you lose your ability to be a stage manager. You can not make them feel unimportant though. You must be able to make them feel like you are listening to them. It is your job as a stage manager to be the drill sergeant and  the cheer leader for everybody in the production. Please keep me informed. 

shanakathleen

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: ASM, West Coast Production of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
« Reply #2 on: Mar 17, 2008, 11:58 pm »
The best thing for you to do is to earn their respect by doing your job well, and being firm without flaunting the fact that you got this opportunity so early in high school. By treating them fairly and proving to them that you indeed deserved this position, you should be able to work well together. In my experience, if you show that you have the skills, grade becomes meaningless.