Author Topic: Shadowing: General Q&A  (Read 122046 times)

imrnthewicked

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Shadowing: General Q&A
« on: Nov 24, 2007, 04:07 pm »
Hello, I am a high school senior from St. Louis, and would like to pursue a career in theatre, and have been thinking seriously about stage management.  Someone recently told me that I can write a letter to the stage manager of a Broadway Tour and they will let you sit backstage with them during a performance. 
Does anyone have any suggestions about how to do this?  Or, has anyone ever done anything like this?  I think this would be a great experience for me to see what a "real" SM does, but am uncertain about how to ask.

jspeaker

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Re: "Shadowing" Stage Managers?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 24, 2007, 04:15 pm »
I have done it since I was in college and continue to do it though I have been a professional SM for many years.  Its great for networking and you always learn something new.  I have shadowed at least 20 shows and have probably had half as many shadow me.

I find for tours the best thing to do is make a phone call.  Sometimes its takes talking to several people to get to the right voice mail.  What you want to do is reach someone at the stage door and ask for the stage management office.  Then just explain your situation and say that if possible you would like to shadow a member of the SM team.

Usually stage managers are more than happy to share what they do and when they say no it is probably due to a management rule.
Jess W. Speaker, III
Equity Stage Manager
DC Area AEA Liaison
(301) 335-1498

http://q5go.blogspot.com/

sievep

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
« Reply #2 on: Nov 24, 2007, 04:17 pm »
Hey there!  Be sure to stop by the introductions forum to introduce yourself to the group.   :)