Author Topic: Saving Prompt Books  (Read 4244 times)

MadisonSchultes

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Saving Prompt Books
« on: Jan 14, 2018, 01:34 pm »
I've been a stage manager for a little bit now and I've collected quite a collection of prompt books. I've always been taught to save them, but I never knew why. I understand that if we ever work the show again, it might be helpful, but when I've worked on a show again, I usually just use all my digital files, and thats it. (I would also love to re-use some of these binders/tabs that are collecting dust in my closet to save some money)

I guess my question is what does everyone do with their old prompt books? Do you save everything? Do you just save the script? And if you do save them, what is the reason?

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Saving Prompt Books
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2018, 01:56 pm »
In my experience they always became property of the producer when the show ended.

RuthNY

• BTDT Editors
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA Eastern Region Stage Manager Councilor
  • Current Gig: ALABASTER
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Jan 15, 2018, 08:29 am »
The prompt book actually belongs to the producing organization, and should be left with them  If you purchased the binder and the tabs with your personal money, put the book's contents in a large envelope, inquire where or with whom you should leave it, and walk away.