Author Topic: Saving Old Scripts  (Read 4299 times)

bethanyb5

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • Bethany Briggs
  • Affiliations: SMA
Saving Old Scripts
« on: Jun 13, 2010, 02:04 am »
I've been SMing for several years now and had gotten into the habit of saving prompt scripts after the show closed. I guess I figured in case I get called to work the show again which has yet to have happened. So I'm wondering if anyone else saves scripts and if you do, do you get rid of them at a certain point?

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Saving Old Scripts
« Reply #1 on: Jun 13, 2010, 02:10 am »
Given that once you start working at a certain level, the script belongs to the producers, I don't have ANY scripts printer out from my past 12 years . . . I have some digital samples of paperwork, but nothing that I have to move around.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

On_Headset

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
« Reply #2 on: Jun 13, 2010, 02:26 am »
There are sometimes issues of legality concerning retaining a script beyond the run of the show, so unless the producer has indicated they want my scripts returned, or there's a company library/archive/repository which deals in scripts and notes, I've always destroyed my scripts.

I've been in the practice of keeping show paperwork for 3 years and then shredding it when I do my taxes, but recently I've gotten in the practice of converting my paperwork into electronic formats (especially biography/contact forms), so it's likely that I'll start keeping stuff in perpetuity. (In an encrypted format, of course.)

EFMcMullen

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA