Author Topic: Rehearsals: Rehearsal Suggestions  (Read 11023 times)

MileHighSM

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
Rehearsals: Rehearsal Suggestions
« on: Nov 01, 2006, 08:53 pm »
Recently a new SM asked me to provide him with some good rules for rehearsal-what he should/shouldn't say, etc.  After giving that to him, I thought some folks might find it useful.  (Just so you know, I'm a professional SM currently pursuing my MFA so I've been doing this for awhile.   :) )

1.  Most directors want stage managers to be seen and not heard.  Unless you're asked, you should never offer your advice or an opinion.  You never want to tell a director how to do their job-you can offer the problem, but don't offer the solution unless you're asked.

2.  Try to anticipate the director's needs and requests-it's super helpful if you can be one step ahead.  I always love it when a director asks me to take a note for a rehearsal report and I've already noted it.

3.  Never answer a question with "I don't know".  If you honestly don't know the answer, say "I don't have that information right now, but I will get you an answer as soon as possible."

4.  Try not to fidget immensely or create lots of excess noise during rehearsal.  Un pack everything you'll need, unwrap any snacks, etc.  Lots of directors are noise sensitive.

5.  Make sure you know where all the lights are as well as temperature controls-as much as possible you want your rehearsal space to be well lit and comfortable.  If you don't have control over the temperature, find out who does so you know who to talk to.

6.  NEVER bash a director in front of your cast, or a cast member to an actor.  If it's happening and you're present, simply don't take part of the conversation.  If someone asks your opinion, change the subject or just say you'd prefer not to comment.

This list could go on forever, but these are some of the immediate things I thought of.  I hope this is helpful to others!