Author Topic: Rehearsals: Rehearsal Suggestions  (Read 11002 times)

smejs

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA, USITT
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM in Denver
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Rehearsal Suggestions
« Reply #15 on: Nov 05, 2006, 11:53 am »
To add to #4:

For the love of pete, turn your pages quietly!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YES, I was dealing with that just this week, and I got a dirty look from the person wondering why it was such a big deal.  Or why I harped on her every time she let the door slam shut behind her in the middle of rehearsal.

Erin

BalletPSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Stage Management Faculty at Baylor University
« Reply #16 on: Nov 10, 2006, 09:13 am »
Recently a new SM asked me to provide him with some good rules for rehearsal-what he should/shouldn't say, etc.  After giving that to him, I thought some folks might find it useful.  (Just so you know, I'm a professional SM currently pursuing my MFA so I've been doing this for awhile.   )

1.  Most directors want stage managers to be seen and not heard.  Unless you're asked, you should never offer your advice or an opinion.  You never want to tell a director how to do their job-you can offer the problem, but don't offer the solution unless you're asked.