Author Topic: Number Markers for dance?  (Read 14353 times)

SGU312

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC, Syracuse University
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager
  • Experience: Professional
Number Markers for dance?
« on: Mar 02, 2008, 04:30 pm »
I don't know if this belongs in this forum, so mods feel free to move it.
Anyways, I am in high school and we are doing Bat Boy the musical. Last week the cast spent rehearsals learning the songs. Tomorrow we start blocking. I got an email from my director today who wants me number 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 etc. from center going both stage right and stage left (every two feet) on the stage before rehearsal starts. Until our set comes in (late April), she said the numbers could be temporary. However, the space is shared and there will be other people on the stage. So I want something durable but also cheap. My stage is 40 feet across, so I have to buy/make 21 numbers. Any suggestions or ideas? This is my first time numbering the stage.
Thanks

hbelden

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
Re: Number Markers for dance?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 02, 2008, 05:05 pm »
The easiest thing is to print out numbers 3 or 4 inches high and tape them to the stage using packing tape. 

If this is too disruptive for the other users of the space, see if you can get strips of luan that are eight feet long and fix the numbers to that.  Then lay the luan down from center line at the edge of the apron for each rehearsal, pick them up and stack them in the side after rehearsals.
--
Heath Belden

"I'm not good, I'm not nice, I'm just right." - Sondheim
--

Celeste_SM

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Mar 02, 2008, 05:09 pm »