Author Topic: NEWBIES: Tech Advice  (Read 5450 times)

boolabella

• New to Town
    • View Profile
NEWBIES: Tech Advice
« on: Feb 10, 2007, 12:53 am »
So I'm a student at the University of Miami where I'm PSMing Brighton Beach Memoirs in the round.  This will be my first time calling a show and I just found out I'll be calling from behind a scrim.  We go into tech on Tuesday and I'm really nervous about the whole process.  I've always been an ASM so being out in the front makes me a little nervous.  Any words of wisdom or advice for my first time teching and calling (especially in the round?!)

Thanks so much!!! :)
Lauren
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 12:23 am by PSMKay »
Ninety percent of leadership is the ability to communicate something people want.”

BalletPSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Stage Management Faculty at Baylor University
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Tech Advice
« Reply #1 on: Feb 11, 2007, 11:44 am »
Here is a great thread where "seasoned" SMs have shared stories of their very first tech experiences. 

http://smnetwork.org/forum/index.php/topic,1595.0.html

Calling in the round really isn't so different from anything else.  You'll probably want to be out front (as opposed to calling from backstage with a monitor).  When I've done shows in the round, I've always arranged my rehearsal table so that I'm watching rehearsals and recording blocking from the same side that the booth is on.  This way you get used to watching the show from the same angle you'll be calling on.  Also you'll want to make sure that there aren't seats that will be blocking your view -- your booth table and chair should be high enough so you can see over the tops of everyone's heads in the house. 
Stage managing is getting to do everything your mom told you not to do - read in the dark, sit too close to the TV, and play with the light switches!

ChaCha

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile