Author Topic: Newbie Band Show Manager need help : (  (Read 3416 times)

sp010123

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Newbie Band Show Manager need help : (
« on: Dec 07, 2008, 02:22 pm »
Hi I am new here : )

I am from Hong Kong (em, u know, that city in China, used to be a British colony...well dah who cares lol) and I am studying Stage Management at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts : ) Just starting

The problem I am facing is...fellows from my year want to have a a rock band show-cum-fashion show of our own at the end of 08/09 academic year, so it's like a showcase of us techie student's and design student's works.  And they elected me as the project manager for it. But I have only done drama and dinner shows and musicals. So I dunno how to start with.

So, some questions in my mind:
1. What is the budget for a band show with approx. 150 audience, in a studio theatre? What's the money spent on? If any budget sample can be provided it would be HIGHLY appreciated : )
2. I am doing researches on tech riders of band shows and I come across the terms PA system and sub mix, what do these two terms mean?
3. What does FOH technician do?

And any advice would be appreciated! Thanks a LOT : )

« Last Edit: Dec 07, 2008, 02:25 pm by sp010123 »

avkid

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Philip LaDue
  • Affiliations: RFL, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Carpenter/Flyman at Count Basie Center For The Arts
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Newbie Band Show Manager need help : (
« Reply #1 on: Dec 09, 2008, 01:20 am »
So, some questions in my mind:
1. What is the budget for a band show with approx. 150 audience, in a studio theatre? What's the money spent on? If any budget sample can be provided it would be HIGHLY appreciated : )
2. I am doing researches on tech riders of band shows and I come across the terms PA system and sub mix, what do these two terms mean?
3. What does FOH technician do?

1. what is the budget for, lights, sound, PR?