Author Topic: New Stage Manager- New Show- International Tour  (Read 3885 times)

irdjfroggie

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
New Stage Manager- New Show- International Tour
« on: Mar 11, 2010, 06:53 pm »
Hello everyone,

I am a new stage manager at school. I have ASM'd in the community theaters around my house, but that is the only experience I have. I have been given the job of Stage Manager at my school.

The show is a new piece written by one of my professors. The show opens in a month, and the script is still being workshopped in rehearsals. The show is set to perform for a week at the school in April, and for a week in Turkey this June.

I have not taken any classes on Stage Management, and I was wondering if anyone had any tips? Different forms I may need and have not done yet? Precautions to take? Items to make sure I have before the tour?

Any help is very much appreciated.

Thank you!

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
Re: New Stage Manager- New Show- International Tour
« Reply #1 on: Mar 11, 2010, 07:47 pm »
Please look around the student/novice sm boards and the forms thread since there is a tremendous amount of help there! Feel free to come back with specific questions we can help you address

irdjfroggie

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Mar 14, 2010, 04:11 pm »
I am more looking for advice on the tour to Turkey.

Should I get any kind of special documentation for this tour?
Any tips for world travel of the show?

Jessie_K

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • International Stage Manager of Mystery
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA, SMA (on leave)
  • Current Gig: Queen of the Night
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #3 on: Mar 14, 2010, 05:34 pm »