Author Topic: Need college advice  (Read 4407 times)

Gravy165

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Need college advice
« on: Jun 29, 2008, 10:41 pm »
Hey guys. I've been lurking on this site for awhile but haven't gotten around to asking for help until now. I graduated from high school in Florida in 2007 and moved to North Carolina with my family a few months after. I decided to take a couple years off after high school just to do something thinking about what I really want to do. In my junior year I helped out with a couple productions at my school which led me to an interest in stage management. I've done alot of research on it and with reading the posts on here I've decided it's what I really want to do. However, I feel as if I don't have any experience in this field. I've been researching alot of different colleges and North Carolina School of the Arts is one that really interests me. But I feel like I would have to go into college with more experience than what I have. Do you think I could be accepted into a good college with no experience in this field?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Need college advice
« Reply #1 on: Jun 29, 2008, 11:13 pm »
A good undergrad program should not impossible to get in without extensive experience, but you should go ahead and contact the university and explain your situation.

I would expect you would assist for a year or two as an undergrad anyway, before being given shows. 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

Nbayard

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: NIU, Stage Coach Players
« Reply #2 on: Jun 30, 2008, 09:25 am »