Author Topic: Looking for Stage Management workshop ideas  (Read 7277 times)

Quingawaga

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Looking for Stage Management workshop ideas
« on: Oct 17, 2007, 01:44 pm »
Hi there, I'm new here, although I used to hang out at SMNetwork.org several years ago, before it turned into this forum thing. But this forum thing is neat!

Anyway...I am an amateur SM with extensive community theatre experience. The theatre I work with primarily is going to be hosting a series of free workshops, and I have put in a proposal to run a stage management workshop aimed at the aspiring community theatre stage manager.

I already have LOTS of material to discuss, but what I was hoping I could gain from posting here is maybe some ideas for actual interactive workshop type stuff. I don't want to just lecture for the entire three hour time slot, but I'm having a hard time coming up with interactive things for people to do that could help them learn to be better stage managers.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Looking for Stage Management workshop ideas
« Reply #1 on: Oct 17, 2007, 02:45 pm »
So much of what we do is conflict resolution and logistical problem solving; how about tossing some common issues you've run into at the group to facilitate a problem solving discussion?
Get action. Do things; be sane; don’t fritter away your time; create, act, take a place wherever you are and be somebody; get action. -T. Roosevelt

JJC98

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: None
« Reply #2 on: Oct 17, 2007, 03:08 pm »
Unfortunately, I don't have any specific ideas to what workshops you should have. BUT, I wanted to say congratulations and have fun organizing this! I would love to take a class or two to improve my SMing.

Kudos! hope it works out wonderfully.

Jennifer

LiLz

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • Boundless Journey