Author Topic: Learning how to read music  (Read 20896 times)

SMMeade

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Asst. Company Manager, HVSF
  • Experience: Professional
Learning how to read music
« on: Mar 25, 2014, 03:16 am »
I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how to learn how to read music- classes, self-taught programs, etc. Not how to call off of it, but literally just understand what sheet music means because I am clueless right now (I know some people say if you know how to count to 8 you're good- but count to 8 off of what? Beats? Is what I think is a beat really a beat? That kind of clueless). My college didn't have a music dept so I didn't have an opportunity to take any music theory classes, and I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions. I'd love to learn because it seems extremely useful.
(I did use the search bar and found a thread slightly similar but it was more geared toward someone instructing students, so I didn't really understand the suggestions).

SMrose

• Permanent Resident
  • all the world's a stage
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, IATSE
  • Current Gig: Technical Support Services @ Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Learning how to read music
« Reply #1 on: Mar 25, 2014, 09:04 am »
After years of calling musicals and operas with no musical training, I began taking piano lessons early last year.  It's just once a week and I find learning from someone who teaches music very beneficial. A teacher will give you insight that you can't get trying to learn on your own. The correlation between the notes on the page and the linear layout of the piano keys makes note recognition easier for me. Is there a community college in your area that has a beginning piano course or music classes?  Do you have a friend who reads music that you can meet with on a regular basis and learn from?

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA