Author Topic: large scale musical --1st time  (Read 4004 times)

kmcooper09

• New to Town
    • View Profile
large scale musical --1st time
« on: Jun 20, 2008, 04:10 pm »
Hey! im a student in high school and i am SMing a community theatre production of "children of eden". i have never SMed anything, i have always been on stage. so far all i have done is a prompt book(no cues yet) and a list of all the props we need and the cast's conflicts. this upcoming week is musical rehearsals, what should i be doing. HELP ME!
"ideal stage managers not only need to be calm and meticulous professionals who know their craft, but masochists who feel pride in rising above impossible odds.”
-Peter Hall

sarahbear42

• Contributor
    • View Profile
Re: large scale musical --1st time
« Reply #1 on: Jun 20, 2008, 06:17 pm »
I'm about to go into tech for my first professional full-scale musical...
During music rehearsals, I made notes of any lyric changes/part changes that were made, and of anything else that was useful. Contact your music director, they ought to be able to tell you what they want from you. My only other duties during that time was rehearsal space setup, making sure that all of the company-owned instruments were in good repair, and doing attendance and that kind of thing. I'd suggest sharpening a big batch of pencils, running off a few copies of the score in case you need to make notes in it (I like to go off a xerox and then transfer to the 'good' copy of the score just before previews...) and be sure you're familiar with where songs fall in the script, etc, since that comes up a lot.

PSMAK

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Jun 20, 2008, 06:56 pm »