Author Topic: HELP!  (Read 6664 times)

al long sound

• New to Town
    • View Profile
HELP!
« on: May 02, 2007, 12:48 pm »
Right, i just found out that on Saturday i will be stage manager/sound plug-up/backline for an outdoor event the venue i work at is holding. Now backline and sound i have been doing for years, but sm is something i've never done before.
can anyone offer me any tips or advise?
Thanks.

Al

ChaCha

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • http://www.performinglineswa.org.au
  • Affiliations: Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: HELP!
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 01:29 pm »
What kind of event is it? Multiple bands? A drama? ...it would help to have a few more details. But basically get a list of what is supposed to happen and when it is supposed to happen and who is suppose to make which bits happen. Make a list of all the things you or anyone else will need to make it happen and organise to have them there. Put up schedules everywhere you can for people to track the event backstage. Then on the day do whatever it takes to keep everyone to the schedule. Keep saying loudly "there is 1/2 an hour/5 minutes (or whatever) until I need ...the soundcheck to start/finish/all cast and crew offstage/until the changeover"...that's pretty much it!
ChaCha

al long sound

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2007, 05:04 am »
It's a blues festival. There are going to be multiple bands outside in a marquee. So i need running orders phone numbers so i can call the bands if they are running late, riders etc?

ChaCha

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2007, 07:31 am »