Author Topic: Help!! A critique from a SM perspective (cirque de soleil)  (Read 6171 times)

loulou

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Hi i am at uni taking a SM course withen my Drama degree.  I have little experience in this field and  have to write a critique on Cirque de Soleil at the Royal Albert Hall London , from a Stage Management perspective.  Has any one seen this or been involved with the production as i am not sure where to start. 
These are some questions i have that are puzzling me:
 Does the Royal Albert use a resident SM  or would the company use their own?  What is the difference in role of SM in a touring/circus company?  There were a huge amount of flys/rigging and acrobatics does this pose difficulties for stage management i.e. health and safety.  Also the stage moves to reveal a trampoline and a revolving platform and the performers appear to enter from underneath.  Is there a term for this type of stage. Would this movement of the stage  be cued as a 'trap' and in your experience and wisdom what problems would this pose for SM for the 'get in' and 'get out'.  I know this is quite alot of of questions but any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated. 
Thanks Guys

smsam

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Re: Help!! A critique from a SM perspective (cirque de soleil)
« Reply #1 on: Feb 07, 2007, 10:33 am »
Hi Lou Lou,

I have a friend who is working on Alegria at the RAH at the moment. I will ask him for some details and post them here! One major consideration I know about is the age of the performers... Most of them are under 16!!

What did you think of the show as a whole by the way? I saw the Dress Rehearsal just before they opened and thought it was 'OK'. I was expecting something a bit more special however after other Cirque shows I had seen in other Countries!

Sam x
Sam x

loulou

• Tourist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Feb 07, 2007, 10:59 am »

Hi Sam