Author Topic: Graduate School: how soon to apply  (Read 5414 times)

Amie

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • Amie S. Bajlaieh  - Stage Manager. Producer. Artist.
  • Affiliations: Crossroads Theatre Company, Rutgers University
  • Current Gig: Producing Associate, Crossroads Theatre Company
  • Experience: Professional
Graduate School: how soon to apply
« on: Jul 19, 2008, 12:36 am »
Hi, all -

I am considering returning to get a masters degree in Stage Management.  I have a bachelors degree, though it is in fine arts, not stage management. I've been stage managing for over 4 years now, though and have a solid portfolio and I think pretty good experience.

I've been considering returning to school, but don't know how soon is too soon to apply...

Thoughts? Is it too soon?  What do grad schools look for?

Thank you,
Amie
~ Amie ~

“This whole creation is essentially subjective, and the dream is the theater where the dreamer is at once: scene, actor, prompter, stage manager, author, audience, and critic.”

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
Re: Graduate School: how soon to apply
« Reply #1 on: Jul 19, 2008, 08:52 am »
I think that 2-4 years after undergrad is an ideal time to return.  The longer you wait, the harder it is t get back into the swing of school.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

Amie

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Jul 19, 2008, 11:09 pm »
I'm about 4 years out and in that time, have gained experience.  So, you are telling me it's not a pre-requisite to have professional/equity under my belt before I apply for graduate school?  I've heard that before, and wanted to know some thoughts.

Thank you for sharing!
Amie
~ Amie ~