Author Topic: Flexing your creativity  (Read 4981 times)

michaelallen

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Flexing your creativity
« on: Dec 12, 2011, 12:27 pm »
Hello! I am a college student and am in the process of figuring out what the heck I want to do with my degree. I've been told, and I agree, that I would be an excellent stage manager. I am a natural leader who is very organized and likes to make sure everyone is on the same page. I would love to become a professional stage manager.

That being said... I am worried that as a stage manager I would not be able to use my creativity. From the classes that I've taken it seems that being a stage manager is all "business." They do not really have a say in any of the shows workings, they're just there to make it all run smoothly. Is this true? As a stage manager do you feel like you are satisfied with just running the show as opposed to having a part in creating it?

Thanks for any responses!

BeccaTheSM

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • Becca Pickett
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Flexing your creativity
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12, 2011, 12:46 pm »
Welcome to the site!

I have found that many directors like to work in a collaborative environment -- everyone's ideas are fair. I enjoy that aspect of creativity within the production. Also, I find that once the show is running, there is often a bit of ebb and floe in the calling of a show. If a particular joke lands really well on the audience, I may hold the doorbell sound cue that takes us into the next scene. It's a matter of milliseconds, but your contribution as the stage manager is to support the production towards its best version.