Author Topic: First time: First time Sming  (Read 6109 times)

newsm

• Tourist
    • View Profile
First time: First time Sming
« on: Sep 28, 2006, 10:18 pm »
I am new at Sming and really dont understand what my job is. I was asm 4 2 shows, but my SM sent me backstage bymyself w/o explaining what 2 do. I never knew what she did, hence I dont know what to do. My director expects me to know what to do and make sure everything is done. What is EVERYTHING? Please HELP!
« Last Edit: Feb 11, 2008, 12:54 pm by PSMKay »

ThePretenderX

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Re: First time Sming
« Reply #1 on: Sep 28, 2006, 11:30 pm »
To be honest, every director I've worked with so far in educational theatre has had a different idea on what exactly a stage manager's duties are, so what I would suggest is to ask your director if you could schedule a time to sit down and talk.  Once you've done this, tell the director openly and honestly that you aren't really sure of everything that falls under your responsibility and that you'd like to go over what he/she would like you to take care of.  Always ask questions if you aren't sure of something, a director or designer might seem to be slightly annoyed if you ask a question they consider to basic, but they would be considerably MORE than annoyed if something went wrong because you didn't have that answer.
We make the time in our lives for what we need, what we want, and what we think we need or want, and if there's any time left over, we sleep!-Me

ReyYaySM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Freelance
  • Experience: Professional
« Reply #2 on: Sep 29, 2006, 10:10 am »