Author Topic: First SM position and first Challenge  (Read 5098 times)

girlbythesea

• Tourist
    • View Profile
First SM position and first Challenge
« on: Mar 18, 2007, 01:36 pm »

Hi ,
I am brand new to SM and am really excited about learning the
tricks of the trade. I have found some wonderful forms on this website
I am sure will help me out.

My number one challenge is "blocking" what exactly do I write and how many scripts to have on hand for the process...yikes :-\

Celeste_SM

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
Re: First SM position and first Challenge
« Reply #1 on: Mar 18, 2007, 01:56 pm »
Just have a clean copy of the script that you don't touch, so that you have it for future needs.  Then use one copy of the script for blocking notes.  You write whatever you need to write to be able to recreate the blocking if needed.  I was given some blocking notation in school, but I mostly just invent my own.   eSL2 = enter stage left, 2nd wing.   Stuff like that.

gNat

• New to Town
  • it's a dinosnore!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Mar 22, 2007, 12:42 am »
Play around with a few different notations and find a way that works for you:  is quick to write down, easy to change, and won't confuse you when you go back to it.  Play around with it.  I usually draw a short vertical line in the text of the script where an action takes place, then write out the action to the right side of the page.  X for cross, ext and ent for exit and enter, dr1 for a door, stuff like that.  And you'll probably want to have an abbreviation for each character, with a key onhand.   L = left, (La) = Larry, (Lu) = Lucy, to take an example from a recent play.

Hope that's helpful.
You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.
- The Princess Bride

LiLz

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • Boundless Journey
  • Affiliations: AEA, USITT
« Reply #3 on: Mar 25, 2007, 11:28 pm »
I just recommended this site for another post, so I may as well be redundant.