Author Topic: Help me please (seeking interviews for a class)  (Read 3150 times)

Down2life

• New to Town
  • The true talent on set
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: USITT SETC J.S.U.
Help me please (seeking interviews for a class)
« on: Nov 12, 2007, 10:40 am »
Hello I am a student at Jacksonville State University and I am supposed to interview a professional stage manager. I had one lined up but she went across the nation to work and I cant seem to get a hold of her. So if anyone is interested please hit my up.
Thank you
Down2life

The questions:
How long have you been a stage manager?
What companies have you worked for?
What was your favorite show to stage manage?
How formal was your training?  Did you go to a school that had a stage management program or did you learn by experience?
Can you describe your typical rehearsal process for a straight play?
What is your preferred process for technical rehearsals?
What do you see as the most important attributes for a stage manager?
What is the most common mistake you see rookie stage managers make?
« Last Edit: Nov 12, 2007, 11:27 pm by PSMKay »

LiLz

• Contributor
    • View Profile
    • Boundless Journey
  • Affiliations: AEA, USITT
Re: Help me please
« Reply #1 on: Nov 12, 2007, 09:39 pm »
Hi!

I've been an SM for 28 years.  I've worked for dozens of companies, including The Mark Taper Forum, Deaf West Theatre, Catalina Production Group, The Colony ... I don't remember a lot of the names any more.

Choosing a favorite show is impossible.  I had a great time working with the cast of a production of "Billy Budd" I did for Catalina, and was very proud of the challenges I overcame to call the 478 cues while running a panel of cue lights and SPFX for a production of Dandelion Wine at The Colony.  Touring brings great memories (and bad, of course) as does every production.  And even the hugest nightmares provide great stories for the future.