Author Topic: College applications: Stagemanaging for High Schooler  (Read 3594 times)

mizzyfreak7

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Hello all. I am new to this site, but I have some questions for the (obviously) knowledable SMs on this site. I am an incoming high school junior, who's now starting to look at college (oh god!). I have been involved in theater tech for three years, and SMing/ ASMing for two. This summer I was a paid intern at a regional theater for a production of A Winter's Tale, and I really enjoyed it. I'm definitely considering pursuing this as a career. So far, the colleges I'm looking at are Hofstra U (in Long Island) and Sarah Lawrence. I would definitely consider a BFA, and although it may seem a little premature, I am beyond devoted to theater, and this is kind of my dream job. What would everyone reccomend that I do to prepare for a degree in SM. I attend a boarding school in NH, so it's a little difficult for me to work with regional theaters during the year.
Any suggestions? I would REALLY appreciate it...
Thanks so much,
selch
peace. ;D
« Last Edit: Feb 11, 2008, 12:50 pm by PSMKay »

megf

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Former SM
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Stagemanaging for High Schooler
« Reply #1 on: Aug 29, 2006, 02:26 am »
My first suggestion would be to take a look at a handful of the recent threads in this forum - there are a bunch of really interesting discussions that are still rolling along at full speed.