Author Topic: Broadway Internship?  (Read 7600 times)

KWhitney

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • KatharineWhitney.com
  • Affiliations: AEA, NYU, SMA
  • Current Gig: PA, Amazing Grace; PSM, BEDLAM
  • Experience: Professional
Broadway Internship?
« on: Apr 25, 2010, 12:53 am »
Hello all,

I am a student at NYU and therefore will be living in New York during the year and am wondering if there is any way to get an long-term internship with the SM team of a Broadway show?  I learned about shadowing through this website, and took advantage of it and it was such a wonderful experience that I would love to be able too see a show being executed for more than just a single performance.

Any tips?
Thank you.

nmno

Re: Broadway Internship?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 25, 2010, 03:24 am »
Hello all,

I am a student at NYU and therefore will be living in New York during the year and am wondering if there is any way to get an long-term internship with the SM team of a Broadway show?  I learned about shadowing through this website, and took advantage of it and it was such a wonderful experience that I would love to be able too see a show being executed for more than just a single performance.

Any tips?
Thank you.

Broadway shows usually have Production Assistants during the rehearsal and tech period but not beyond that.   The hours are long (PA's are required to be at all rehearsals as a part of the SM team so you'd be there from say, 8am-7pm, assuming they don't need you longer) and the pay is low (about unemployment weekly max).  However, PA jobs are pretty competitive - many PA's are actually AEA SM's trying to get their foot in the door - often shows will want to hire PA's that can later be subs, which means they need to be AEA.