Author Topic: Assistant Design Experience?  (Read 5814 times)

LindSM

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Vassar College
  • Experience: College/Graduate
Assistant Design Experience?
« on: Jun 19, 2016, 02:40 pm »
Hi all!

I am a drama student in college and plan on stage managing for a career after I graduate. Since I go to liberal arts college, the faculty encourage us to work on department productions in capacities outside those we plan on entering professionally. Because of this, I am planning on taking on some kind of an assistant design role for a play in the spring semester.

They don't really factor in experience when assigning you a position if you're an assistant, so I can pretty much ask to be assigned to any position (assistant lights, set, sound, props, and costumes are the usual positions available). I have my own preferences and certain levels of comfort with each of these areas, but I wanted to reach out to all you stage managers and see if you have any recommendations - in short, which area(s) of design do you think it is most beneficial, professionally or educationally, to gain more knowledge and experience in?

Hope that makes sense, and sorry if something like this has already been asked/answered - a quick search didn't yield anything, but I may have been looking for the wrong thing. Thank you!

maximillionx

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Assistant Design Experience?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 19, 2016, 04:26 pm »
First off, good for you on gaining the experience in other fields! Being multi-faceted only makes you more employable.

Second - and take this with as many salt grains as you like, since your question is asking anecdotally - I'd go with scenic.  I find, again in my personal experience, the overlap there is more prevalent and useful when stage managing.