Author Topic: Bad ASM's  (Read 10754 times)

Jill Young

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Bad ASM's
« on: Oct 26, 2007, 07:59 pm »
I have an ASM who has NEVER done stage managment before, and came to us only knowing the blocking notations (she has only had two years of high school drama class. that's it). She has a big mouth, and often doesn't know when to stop talking, and is seriously getting on my nerves, as well as our cast members. I can only think about the long run- our show opens in April- and I can forsee her getting her head bit off during Tech because she has no idea how tech works.

In the world of professional theatre, she would be fired. But since this is High School, we have to keep her because she would take it to the administration.

I don't know if  this sounds selfish, but I've worked towards this position for three years, and I'm now in my final year, lined up for a Tech Theatre/Stage Management course in University, and now I have to run a show AND train an ASM incase something happens to me? I don't know how I'm supposed to deal with this. I'm level headed, I feel terrible if I freak out at people, and I don't know how to deal with her. PLEASE, help.

lauria

• Link Checker Supreme!
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Bad ASM's
« Reply #1 on: Oct 26, 2007, 09:28 pm »