Author Topic: At A Cross Roads  (Read 4328 times)

PrincessSM

• Tourist
  • Gaff tape = GOD
    • View Profile
At A Cross Roads
« on: Aug 22, 2008, 10:03 pm »
Hello there! I'm new and I found this website on google and was hoping ya'll could please help me with an "issue" I have. I'm a college freshman (classes start Monday) and I'm having trouble deciding what I want to major in: theatre secondary education or stage management. Since my freshmen year of high school I've been pretty head strong about being a theatre teacher. I've helped my high school director with his lower level classes and I love the feeling that I'm helping an artist grow. I get so excited when I can share my love of theatre with others. On the other hand, I have been the stage manager for the past two years at my high school and I loved every minute of it. Nothing could beat the sensation of walking into a rehersal (even when times were tense) and taking on every challenge as it came along. SMing is really the only thing that really kept me in theatre anyway, I can't sing/dance/act. I do realize that SMing in high school is totally different than the the real world and also that it's not as "stable" as teaching. I'm really bugged about this and I want to know what to do. Could anyone please give me a hint in the correct direction to take? I'm kinda tired of losing sleep over this. Thanks.
"You're all in a musical, find a key and STICK WITH IT!!!"

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
Re: At A Cross Roads
« Reply #1 on: Aug 23, 2008, 09:22 am »
Do you have to choose a major today?

Do you GE, try a couple classes of each - see if you can intern in one or both fields, or at least shadow.

Then make a decision.

At 17,18 or 19 is not the best time to making huge decisions.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -