Author Topic: ASM??  (Read 4225 times)

sabby8118

• Tourist
    • View Profile
ASM??
« on: Sep 02, 2007, 05:10 pm »
I am a stage management student at a community college. I am the only stage manager at my school and there is really no one to teach me. I'm sming my 3rd show there this semester and unlike previous semester I have peers who are interested in learning about being a sm. All the other shows I've smed I've done by myself with really little to no help. I'm really excited that these students are interested in learning but because I'm the only one with experience I'm expected to teach them. I've signed them on to be my ASMs. I have no idea what the tasks of an ASM are. Since I've always done everything myself I don't know what jobs should be deligated to an ASM.

Can someone please make some suggestions for me. I don't just want to make these students glorified stage sweepers...

Thanks!!

sievep

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: ASM??
« Reply #1 on: Sep 02, 2007, 07:45 pm »
It sounds like you have a great opportunity to introduce people to the profession.

Everyone has their own style of working, so you'll get a ton of different answers to this question.

Personally, I have one ASM for Stage Left, and one for Stage Right.  One of those ASMs will work with props, the other with costumes. . . .including securing rehearsal pieces, generating running sheets, etc.  If you did this, you'd probably have to provide them with a template for the paperwork assigned to them.  Lead by example.  Allow them the freedom to develop their own styles of stage management, and provide a supportive environment for them to learn.  Suggest they do some reading on the subject before starting rehearsals (this website is a great resource and sounding board), and make sure they are prepared for the first day of rehearsal.  Sincere compliments and advice are usually a great way to support good choices.