Author Topic: Directorial relations crisis  (Read 4951 times)

Laura

• New to Town
    • View Profile
Directorial relations crisis
« on: Feb 28, 2008, 04:01 am »
How does everyone else relate to directors?

I know I am young and still learning, but I've had one hell of a time with bad directors. I just cant seem to shake this trend. I can write off one or two directors to them being the jerk, or they don't know how to work with stage management, but I am really starting to think it's me.

I can be a good stage manager... no, I AM a good stage manager. I am an intelligent, competent, confident person... and social to boot. I do not understand why I have such a hard time connecting with directors. And it ultimately always ends up with me making a mistake (or at least having to take responsibility for a mistake) and looking bad in front of the director (only the director... if I'm lucky). Then I get flustered and freaked out and I resent my director--and MYSELF--and I doubt myself. Which when you're starting your career... doubting yourself is not exactly a good starting place.

I've only really worked regional theatre... no where near any kind of union, although we all like to run under equity rules. I've worked with a lot of unkowns, but I've also been exposed to some bigger names... good experience, right?

I'm not so sure.

Okay... pause... I'll be a little more specific.

O... general note: my mistakes almost always have to do with scheduling. Inevitably, I probably could not make it a week without messing up a daily call. [sigh]