Author Topic: Advice for a newbie  (Read 5688 times)

tess91

• Tourist
    • View Profile
Advice for a newbie
« on: Oct 13, 2009, 10:15 am »
I've stage managed a number of shows before but have never done it by what one might say the proper, technical manner. I've always been able to remember what happened during rehearsal, what blocking was, how stage was set, and when and where props are but in my class I must use forms I've never used before and am not sure the best way to do a full and legitimate prompt book. Does anyone have any advice for me? I don't really understand why I have to do the book technically correctly when it's only me who has to be able to see and understand it.

Thanks!

missliz

• Superstar!
    • View Profile
    • Personal Site
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Advice for a newbie
« Reply #1 on: Oct 13, 2009, 10:31 am »
I don't really understand why I have to do the book technically correctly when it's only me who has to be able to see and understand it.

It's what I've called bus-proofing: if I got hit by a bus, my book would be understandable enough that anybody could run the show. If a director needs to know where prop X is by Act II, or a list of blackout cues, or which side of the stage an actor is on in Scene 3 (all things I've been asked), it's having all that information on hand instantly. Plus, written down, you have proof if someone says "oh no, we're doing it this way..."

I can keep a lot of information in my head as well, and it's definitely useful, but never assume you're the only one who will have to deal with the information.
I personally would like to bring a tortoise onto the stage, turn it into a racehorse, then into a hat, a song, a dragon and a fountain of water. One can dare anything in the theatre and it is the place where one dares the least. -Ionesco

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM