Author Topic: UNDERSTUDIES: what should i do?  (Read 5790 times)

swellanore

• Tourist
    • View Profile
UNDERSTUDIES: what should i do?
« on: Feb 19, 2006, 12:18 pm »
I need to schedule and conduct understudy rehearsals and I’ve never done before. What is normal procedure? Do I call leads with understudies? Vocal rehearsals vs. blocking. Do I run the show using all understudies or just a few at a time. I’m really at a loss here.
« Last Edit: Jun 08, 2009, 11:06 pm by PSMKay »

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
  • Experience: Professional
What I do
« Reply #1 on: Feb 19, 2006, 02:31 pm »
What I do at my theatre . . . which specializes in classical theatre.

We do four days of rehearsals, with the understudies in the roles they are understudying.  (If an understudy understudies two roles in one scene, they we work the scene twice.)  I DO NOT call the regular EQUITY cast members to stand in, but I usually call the NON-EQUITY normal cast to help fill in the gaps as needed.

During these four days, we also do the understudy costume fittings, understudy vocal work, understudy fight and dance work.  I work very closely with the AD, who actually is directing the understudies.  

On the fifth day, we finish all the fight and dance work, and then do a little bit of tech.  (Like speciality items).  The last thing we do is a understudy run thru, with the understudies playing the role, we add in lights and sound (no costumess), and the rest of tech.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

jspeaker

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
what should i do?
« Reply #2 on: Feb 19, 2006, 03:23 pm »
a lot also depends on how long the understudies have been hired and how much rehearsal they have seen.