Author Topic: PRE-PRODUCTION: Stage Manager Prep To-Do List  (Read 9617 times)

szconrad

• Tourist
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
PRE-PRODUCTION: Stage Manager Prep To-Do List
« on: Jul 11, 2012, 10:03 pm »
Hello all. I am a college student who has been stage managing for about four years now. I have been researching on here for about 6 months and I have really gained a lot from the community on here, so thank you for that.

Over the last year, with each show I have done, I have thought that it would be a good idea to have a to-do list that puts all my prep work into a logical order so I can set a certain routine with each show I do and not forget anything last-minute. Ranging from when I first get the script to the end of show run, I want to have a "master to do list" that can be added to or changed at any time.  Do you guys have any suggestions as far as formats for this on how to organize it, or maybe things you have on your own to do lists? Thanks for your help.

Edit to subject line-Rebbe
« Last Edit: Sep 29, 2012, 01:24 pm by Rebbe »
Zach Conrad

Rebbe

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Stage Manager Prep To-Do List
« Reply #1 on: Jul 12, 2012, 09:29 am »
There are some examples of Prep AKA Pre-production lists in the Uploaded Forms board:
http://smnetwork.org/forum/uploaded-forms/preproduction-forms/msg37738/#msg37738

Check them out and let us know if you have additional questions.
"...allow me to explain about the theatre business. The natural condition is one of insurmountable obstacles on the road to imminent disaster."  (Philip Henslowe, Shakespeare In Love)

Maribeth

• View Profile
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Jul 12, 2012, 09:35 am »
I like to organize my to-do list chronologically- Prep Week, First Rehearsal, Move-to-Stage, Tech, Previews, Opening, Closing. Definitely check out what is in the Uploaded Forms- there are some great examples there.

missliz