Author Topic: SHOWS: SMing a Shakespeare  (Read 9914 times)

Rhynn

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Experience: High School
Re: SMing a Shakespeare
« Reply #15 on: Nov 11, 2007, 09:29 pm »
I would definitely get the side-by-side version of the script from B&N or Amazon.  I would then have your read it 10 times and then work out your actor/scene breakdown so that you really know the show before working with scheduling and other issues.  It might also be helpful to see another company's production of the show--as R&J is quite frequently performed.  I'm sure that someone in your area has done it in the last 5 years and has a home video of it.
-----
I'm flattered, but the answer is still no.

Bwoodbury

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • bridgetwoodbury.com
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM
  • Experience: Professional
SHOWS: Shakespeare Tips
« Reply #16 on: Feb 02, 2009, 02:33 am »
Hello all! I am an sm student at the University of Maryland in College Park, MD and I just started working on The Winter's Tale (which is the aforementioned Shakespeare). I think for the most part things are going pretty well, but I'm running into overwhelming amount of stuff. I feel like I have a handle on the organizational aspect; I'm pretty good with forms and the more technical/paperwork end of things, but would love any suggestions people had about the people managing part of Shakespeare. We don't do a lot with the bard at UMD and I think a lot of students are overwhelmed by the text as, occasionally am I by the shear number of people in the show playing multiple parts. My ASMs are good, but also fairly new at sming at this level. I want to be as efficient as possible without confusing people or stressing them out. Specific suggestions people have for information juggling in a big, long, slightly inaccessible show like this. I would also love, love, love to perhaps shadow someone in rehearsal, if there's anyone on the forums that's working on Shakespeare