Author Topic: PRE-PRODUCTION: Running a design meeting  (Read 5846 times)

margaretheff

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • Margaret A. Heffernan Stage Manager
  • Affiliations: EMC, University of Northern Colorado, USITT
  • Current Gig: Production Assistant, New Repertory Theatre
  • Experience: Professional
PRE-PRODUCTION: Running a design meeting
« on: Dec 03, 2013, 04:55 pm »
Probably a silly question, but: How does the stage manager run a design meeting?

I have so far been a part of three design meetings (I am a college stage manager), and each time I felt rather unprepared to run the meeting as much as I did. But, as I thought I should, I went into it with the mentality that it was a meeting for the designers to collaborate (as opposed to a production meeting).

So, I was wondering how everyone else went about attending/running a design meeting, and if there is a specific way to do it.

Thanks!

Edited to add topic tag. - Maribeth
« Last Edit: Dec 09, 2013, 01:50 pm by Maribeth »
"To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time." -Leonard Bernstein

iamchristuffin

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • www.christuffin.co.uk
  • Affiliations: UK SMA, UK Equity
Re: Running a design meeting
« Reply #1 on: Dec 03, 2013, 08:52 pm »
How would you describe a design meeting? I'm sure I have been to some, but I guess I call them by a different name.

C

nick_tochelli

• Loved and Missed.
  • Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
    • Nick Tochelli's Blog: The Backstage Ballet
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: PM- Godlight Theatre Company/Inside Sales:Barbizon Lighting
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Running a design meeting
« Reply #2 on: Dec 04, 2013, 09:13 am »