Author Topic: PROPS: Prop master problems  (Read 4754 times)

stagemanagerluana

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Community Theatre
PROPS: Prop master problems
« on: Jun 26, 2016, 09:25 pm »
Aloha all,

This is my 5th show I have stage managed.  All have been at our local community theater.  (I do about 1 show a year.)  While I am fairly new to being an SM, I have been an actor in youth and community theater since I was a little kid (I'm 48 now), so I do know how things are supposed to go.

I have worked with the same props master this whole time.  Up until this show, she's been ok to work with.  A little quirky, but aren't we all?  But for this show, I'm really having a problem with her and I feel terrible because I really like her as a person.

She is refusing to use the prop list I have made, the props tracking chart I came up with and the chart of where to pre-set props so they would be easy for the actors to grab.  She is using 2 props tables, but they're not taped off, so everything is disorganized and messy (which I absolutely hate).  Basically, things are organized in such a way that makes it easy for HER and not for the actors.

When I brought it to her attention, she said that she can't work with MY system and that she'll be working with HER system of doing things.

Ultimately, the main thing is that the actors have their props when they go onstage, so instead of causing a HUGE rift in this little, local community theater, I am just dropping the issue and letting her do HER system.

Because I haven't had any formal SM training, I don't know if the SM has any say about how the props are run backstage or not? 

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: PROPS: Prop master problems
« Reply #1 on: Jun 27, 2016, 01:12 am »