Author Topic: PROFESSIONALISM: Dressing For The Part?  (Read 92338 times)

MileHighSM

• Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
PROFESSIONALISM: Dressing For The Part?
« on: Jan 06, 2007, 05:14 pm »
Hey everyone...curious to get opinions on this.  I'm a first year grad SM, and the head of the department recently told me that my style of dress is too casual and may actually prevent me from getting jobs in larger theatres.  In interviews I'm dressed business casual or better, and at work I take my cue from the director or others who work at the theatre, though in my past experience folks are dressed casually-jeans, sneakers, and t-shirts don't seem to be uncommon.  However, I'm now being told that I need to be dressing "nicer"-if I'm going to stick w/ my jeans, I need to be wearing nicer shoes and be more dressy on the top half if I want to be taken seriously.  What are people's opinions on this?  Do you think that's true?  That dressing casual reads as a casual approach to the job?  Or that me dressing casually effects me getting a job or not?
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 02:19 am by PSMKay »

Mac Calder

• Forum Moderators
  • Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Dressing For The Part?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 06, 2007, 06:00 pm »