Author Topic: PRE-PRODUCTION: Noises Off! How to be Prepared?  (Read 13618 times)

itsDani

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
PRE-PRODUCTION: Noises Off! How to be Prepared?
« on: Aug 20, 2013, 09:44 pm »
Hi all!

First off, thank you all for helping me so much. I only joined smnetwork a few days ago and I love being here :)

That being said, today I met my new director/theatre teacher and we discussed our first show this year: Noises Off and announced that I am to be stage manager! While I have been stage manager for a few of our shows in the past, as well as been a PA at my local professional theatre over the summer, this particular teacher and I have never worked together before.

We don't start school until next week, and auditions aren't until mid-September.. but I'm just so excited I can't handle myself, so I would love some advice to help me be prepared! I'm already planning on watching the movie and a few stage recorded versions on youtube before school starts.. but what do you all recommend to be prepared for a production like this? I have heard this this show is a beast, but I also know that it is set in all one setting so I don't quite understand why it should be so difficult.
What should I know about this particular production so that I can hit the ground running? And what sort of research do you do about your shows before you start work on them?

Also, I have been searching through the other forums, but if anybody has any tips on how to make my high school work seem as professional as possible that would be very helpful!

Thanks again!
Dani  ;D

planetmike

• SM Expert
  • @planetmike
    • View Profile
    • Michael Clark, Stage Manager
  • Experience: Community Theatre
Re: PRE-PRODUCTION: Noises Off! How to be Prepared?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 20, 2013, 11:55 pm »
Hi, and welcome to SMNetwork,

Don't watch the movie adaptation of a stage production. It is very likely different in script, execution, effects, etc…..