Author Topic: NEW WORKS: Original Script  (Read 3555 times)

LizbitSM

• Tourist
    • View Profile
NEW WORKS: Original Script
« on: Mar 25, 2006, 12:39 am »
I am currently working on an original scipt with a notoriously difficult director... who happens to be the playwright as well. I am ready to murder her. There are nightly re-writes and she doesn't make copies for me, or even for all of the actors in the scene, we are into week two of rehearsals and she doesn't even know what is going on. I get phone calls in class, at work, late at night and early in the morning with her asking questions that she has the paper work with which she can anwser her own questions.

I am about 5 steps from the door on this. However I am afraid that if I leave I will ruin my referances. And my reputaion, not to mention that she is one of my professers this sem.

I am a student and taking a full load of classes, but because  am the only stagemanager in our university with original script experience (I've worked on three original straight plays and one musical) I was basically thrown into it. (for those of you who read my last topic this show is why I didin't get the Musical... they had other plans for me)

Any advice would be appricated, even if it is suggestions for organizing my blocking script... which changes so often I haven't had time to transfer blocking before there is a new re-write. Even if it is just advise for how to remain positive about all of this.

HELP!!!
« Last Edit: Jun 08, 2009, 11:10 pm by PSMKay »

megf

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Former SM
  • Experience: Professional
Original Script
« Reply #1 on: Mar 25, 2006, 03:09 am »