Author Topic: NEW WORKS: Workshoping a show...  (Read 5089 times)

lsu_kat

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • http://
NEW WORKS: Workshoping a show...
« on: Nov 12, 2005, 03:12 am »
Hi fellow SMs!

I just agreed to SM a show that is being workshopped over the next few months.  I'm a student and have looked through all my notes and books but there is no information about workshopping a show.  Is there anything special that I should do?  Any specialized paperwork?  Any suggestions would be great!!  Thanks y'all!!!!!
« Last Edit: Jun 08, 2009, 10:45 pm by PSMKay »

Mac Calder

• Forum Moderators
  • Plan for the future, live for the now
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: Live Performance Australia / Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance
  • Current Gig: Technical Director
  • Experience: Former SM
Workshoping a show...
« Reply #1 on: Nov 12, 2005, 06:39 am »
welcome to HELL.

Tip #1. Number lines and pages
Tip #2. Keep the line numbers the same.
Tip #3. Create sheets which have line additions and removals, each dated
Tip #4. Distribute said sheets BEFORE the next session
Tip #5. Buy pencils en bulk (actors can NEVER remember their own pencil)
Tip #7. Buy your own coffee company - you will spend every minute after rehearsals performing maintenance.

As a general rule, when going through a long workshoping period (weeks), I will usually have my prompt book arranged as follows:

script&blocking for page 1
Plastic pocket
script&blocking for page 2
Plastic pocket

etc. So there is a pocket after each page. Why? you may ask. Each page of my script I have the revision date and number. When I do another revision (say every 3rd day, the rest of the time it is penned in) I take out the script and blocking pages, staple them together and place them in the plastic pocket.

You may want a dictaphone (micro casset recorder) as they can often be extreamly fast.