Author Topic: COSTUMES: How involved do you get with costumes and wardrobe?  (Read 12230 times)

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SAG, AFTRA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Caroling, caroling now we go — and looking for my next gig!
  • Experience: Professional
y'know, this is one of those places I draw the line. Costumes are someone else's bailiwick, I can help by making sure actors know who launders and when, and with complete novices I have made my own costume plot for my own reference (for QC concerns) but otherwise, I step away - costumes are not my department. Not to say I haven't loaned things occasionally, or helped the costumer by suggesting places to find certain items, but I am a stage manager, not wardrobe mistress.

Split off and moved from the Uploaded Forms board.  Uploaded Forms is not for discussion.
« Last Edit: Feb 15, 2010, 04:34 pm by PSMKay »

gelo141

• New to Town
  • I am not a teacher, I'm an awakener!
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Beauty and the Beast
  • Experience: High School
COSTUMES: How involved do you get with costumes and wardrobe?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 15, 2010, 10:36 am »
Among otherthings, I am the robe mistress, and know from experience that any feedback from the director/ stagemanager/ choreographer is helpful.  Costuming can be so crucicial to a production that it makes or breaks a production - take Annie, w/o the red dress it's just the story of a perky orphan who gets adopted by a rich guy.  I've only ever seen a dress get applause once- and that is when Annie walks on stage in her iconic dress and wig. Sorry for venting, pet peeve.  :)
There is really nothing you must be. & there is nothing you must do. There is really nothing you must have. & there is nothing you must know. There is really nothing you must become. However it helps to understand that fire burns, & when it rains . . .

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
COSTUMES: How involved do you get with costumes and wardrobe?