Author Topic: CALLING: Is there a right and worng way to call cues????  (Read 5340 times)

starsineyes

• New to Town
    • View Profile
With my many questions about SM since this is my first time since college...I was wondering if there was a wrong and right way to call cues or is it up to you the SM? I am use to a stand-by then light cue 1 go or cue 1 go...so just to make sure I transition into the world from college I wanted to ask first....
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 01:02 am by PSMKay »

ReyYaySM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: Freelance
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Is there a right and worng way to call cues????
« Reply #1 on: Sep 13, 2007, 12:48 pm »
Basically, as long as you are calling your cues in a clear, concise manner that your operators understand and the cues are executed at the right times, then there really isn't a "right" or "wrong" way to call them.  Each SM adopts his/her own style as they discover what works best. 

Here are a couple of existing threads you might want to check out related to this topic: 

Calling Cues
Calling a warning for a cue
Lights? Electrics? Elex?

Best of luck to you as you make the transition from college to the professional theatre world!!

KMC

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Current Gig: Project Manager, Systems Integration
  • Experience: Former SM
« Reply #2 on: Sep 13, 2007, 01:14 pm »
To add to what dramachic said - consistency is a big thing as well.  Consistency in terms of how long your standys are, your pace in speaking, pause between the cue# and the word go, etc... all should be consistent from cue to cue. 
Get action. Do things; be sane; don’t fritter away your time; create, act, take a place wherever you are and be somebody; get action. -T. Roosevelt

zayit shachor

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • http://thankyouten.blogspot.com
« Reply #3 on: Sep 13, 2007, 01:41 pm »