Author Topic: CALLING: calling cues  (Read 18307 times)

britDsm

• Tourist
    • View Profile
CALLING: calling cues
« on: Jun 18, 2007, 03:22 pm »
hi everyone! im a newbie!

i just have a quick question am i right in saying this
lighting= LX
sound= SQ
Fly= FQ

thanks.
« Last Edit: Jun 09, 2009, 12:37 am by PSMKay »

jspeaker

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Re: calling cues
« Reply #1 on: Jun 18, 2007, 04:43 pm »
I dont use "Q" and I refer to fly cues as rail cues.
Jess W. Speaker, III
Equity Stage Manager
DC Area AEA Liaison
(301) 335-1498

http://q5go.blogspot.com/

lauria

• Link Checker Supreme!
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA
« Reply #2 on: Jun 18, 2007, 06:11 pm »
Is this as in how you're actually calling it? Or what you're writing in your book?

I say "Lights 23" and Write "L23" (I don't say/write Q either. It takes up time that you may need.

I also say "Sound 54" (Although I prefer letters when possible) and write "S54" \

I think I actually say "Fly Q E" which is probably a waste of time but that was my first show with Flys and I didn't really know what I was doing. :-P I gave them letters (skipping Q) since I had numbers for both lights and sound. "Rail" makes a lot of sense though and I'd probably switch to that myself.

MatthewShiner

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AEA, SMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance Stage Manager; Faculty for UMKC
« Reply #3 on: Jun 18, 2007, 08:11 pm »
I write "LX 23"; say "electrics 23"

I write "Sound 48"; say "sound 48"

I write "Auto 12"; say "Automation 12" or "Auto 12" if I am pushed for time.

Usuaing with fly cues, I describe - but I don't call a lot of fly cues "Branches", "Lamps" in my current show.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Anything posted here as in my own personal opinion, and does not necessarily reflect the opinion of my employer - whomever they be at a given moment in time.

loebtmc

• Forum Moderators
    • View Profile