Author Topic: PROMPT SCRIPT: Assistant Stage Manager Paperwork  (Read 13400 times)

margaretheff

• New to Town
    • View Profile
    • Margaret A. Heffernan Stage Manager
  • Affiliations: EMC, University of Northern Colorado, USITT
  • Current Gig: Production Assistant, New Repertory Theatre
  • Experience: Professional
PROMPT SCRIPT: Assistant Stage Manager Paperwork
« on: Jan 02, 2013, 11:34 pm »
Hi there! I'm a freshman Stage Management student and am Assistant Stage Managing my first show starting in a few weeks. I know what to be expecting for the most part, but I'm wondering what kind of "book" I should be keeping. Of course I will have my script, schedule and contact information. All the basics. But should I keep a binder like I would if I were stage managing? Or should my binder be set up differently? Thanks!

Edit to add topic tag- Maribeth
« Last Edit: Feb 11, 2013, 08:22 pm by Maribeth »
"To achieve great things, two things are needed; a plan, and not quite enough time." -Leonard Bernstein

PSMKay

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.smnetwork.org
  • Affiliations: None.
  • Current Gig: SMNetwork *is* my production.
  • Experience: Former SM
Re: Assistant Stage Manager Paperwork
« Reply #1 on: Jan 03, 2013, 12:19 am »
I would recommend doing everything you can to travel light. ASM duties in rehearsal tend to be more active and will often require you to assemble (and enact!) the preset and scene shifts alone. Your SM will be maintaining the big bible including the blocking, so you'll be able to lighten your load considerably. You may even be able to run your script double-sided.

In most cases I used to put my ASM on book, although some SMs like to keep that task to themselves. I would do what you can to keep your script set up for prompting, with line numbers as well as page numbers so you can easily reference flubbed words.