Author Topic: Things to look for in opera  (Read 4569 times)

Bwoodbury

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
    • bridgetwoodbury.com
  • Affiliations: AEA, AGMA
  • Current Gig: Freelance SM
  • Experience: Professional
Things to look for in opera
« on: Apr 08, 2009, 01:11 am »
I am wardrobe head for two operas at my school starting this week. Xerxes and Eugene Onegin are being done in rep. It's a paid position with grad student singers and professional SMs. My priority is obviously to my duties as wardrobe head, but I think there will be a lot of downtime and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on what I could pay special attention to. I have zero experience in opera, so I think this is an awesome way for me get a feel for the atmosphere and some of the caveats and differences between opera and theatre. What can I learn from? Thanks!

ScooterSM

• Permanent Resident
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: SMA
  • Experience: Professional
Re: Things to look for in opera
« Reply #1 on: Apr 08, 2009, 11:29 am »
Although not exactly a SM thing, one thing to watch out for in Xerxes is that there are several women who play men (roles originally written for castrati) and a woman who dresses up as a man for a disguise.  I just closed a production of this show and keeping all of the calls, fittings, etc straight were particularly difficult because of the conflicting pronouns.  We couldn't say "All women" or "All men" because it wasn't clear who we were actually talking about.
A more SM related issue is that score is set up in ABA or da capo style, meaning that the singer sings the A section, then the B section, and then repeats the A section from either the top (da capo) or a marked place in the score (del segno).  This means either having to flip back the score a few pages for the second A section (or A prime) or photocopying those pages so you only have one set of cues/blocking on each section.

I hope it goes well!