Author Topic: Professional Ballet or Dance Company Shadow  (Read 5538 times)

EzBrEzPSM

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: Professional
Professional Ballet or Dance Company Shadow
« on: Jun 26, 2013, 04:50 pm »
I'm looking for someone who is or could refer me to; the stage manager of a professional ballet or dance company that I could shadow for a week or two. My background is in stage managing theatre but my current and hopefully long term position is the stage manager/production manager/company manager of a small professional ballet company. I would love to have the opportunity to see how a seasoned professional dance stage manager and their medium to large sized professional dance or ballet company transitions from the studio to the stage as well as see what type of paperwork I'm missing from my templates or that I'm using that is not necessary for dance management. I'm trying to plan this shadowing for October or for sometime in the 2014-15 season. Because I've only been in the professional realm for a year I am not sure about the proper protocol for approaching other companies about this possibility. I'm not sure how normal or out of the box this type of request is, so any input on the topic is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

ejsmith3130

• SM Expert
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: EMC
  • Current Gig: Coordinating a Move to Napaskiak AK- Harder than any show I've ever done!
Re: Professional Ballet or Dance Company Shadow
« Reply #1 on: Jun 26, 2013, 10:18 pm »
What regional area are you looking to shadow in?

BayAreaSM

• View Profile
    • Bay Area SM
  • Affiliations: AEA
  • Current Gig: VP, Operations in AV Events
« Reply #2 on: Jul 01, 2013, 01:50 am »
Are you looking to travel to observe someone? Narrowing down an area can help us give you a better answer.

EzBrEzPSM

• New to Town
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Jul 02, 2013, 04:25 pm »