Author Topic: new to opera and kind of scared  (Read 7798 times)

ernlin

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Experience: College/Graduate
new to opera and kind of scared
« on: Apr 10, 2009, 07:08 pm »
so i just got a job for the summer being an ASM for an opera. this is all good news but i have never done opera before. i have been looking at the other message boards and i still have a few questions.

what are the primary duties for the ASM?

what is the rehearsal process like?

what should i do if i am not fluent at reading music?

BKrynicki

• New to Town
    • View Profile
  • Affiliations: AGMA
Re: new to opera and kind of scared
« Reply #1 on: Apr 11, 2009, 01:54 pm »
Congrats on getting the job, it can be a lot of fun and there's likely great music!  Primary duties will depend on the stage manager and how they like to divide up responsibilities on the team as well as on how many ASMs there are.  ASMs are often responsible for Prop and/or Costume running documents as well as the WhoWhatWhere.  The extent of that content is up to your SM.  Sometimes it's just entrances and exits and applicable props/costumes, sometimes it includes tech cues as well.  ASMs typically cue all entrances especially for chorus and supernumeraries (extras).  Principals may take their own entrance cues, but you should be there in case they fall asleep.  Each SM works a little differently and they should be able to guide you in this.

Rehearsal process: Often the first day is a musical sing through of the show, sometimes they just do music of the pertinent scene right before staging it.  Actual staging rehearsal will look familiar as far as resetting props, having rehearsal costumes available.  The conductor may request coaching time for a certain singer if he feels they need more work, that's usually private time and SMs are not needed.